Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus

Cover Reveal Coming Soon

02 Mar 2023 * TRADE PAPERBACK * £14.99 * 9781784978426

A rich and dark tale about a young woman navigating the betrayals and ambitions of the crown in 10th-century England.

Fiction / FV (Historical Fiction)
Extent: 416 pages  Format: 228 x 145 mm
EXPORT ONLY Exclusive: CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US   Not for sale: GB
Daughter of the Wolf
Swimming with Seals
Swimming with Seals
Also by Victoria Whitworth
Other Godsby Victoria Whitworth

At 28, Beatrix thinks her life is over. The neglected daughter of a king's unwise first marriage, she devotes her time to nurse-maiding her twelve younger siblings, a lonely Cinderella in the thick of the murderous and conniving West Saxon court.

When her brother Athelstan unexpectedly accedes to the throne, everything changes. He shocks everyone by sending Beatrix north to marry Sitric One-Eye, the Viking king of York, a pact with heathen pirates that will secure Athelstan his own crown.

Her new life leads her to call into question everything she once trusted: her faith, her family, and her capacity for love. When Athelstan calls on her loyalty, demanding that she betray her husband, she faces the biggest crisis of her life.

Victoria Whitworth is a historian and bestselling author of Daughter of the Wolf and Swimming with Seals. She lives near Inverness, where she writes full time.

New historical fiction for fans of Gabaldon & Erskine.

Based on real historical figures.

Strong local history interest.

Author of the hughly popular Swimming with Seals.

MARKET: Sarah Dunant; Sarah Perry; Sarah Waters.


PRAISE FOR VICTORIA WHITWORTH:
'Attentive, astute and beautiful' Amy Liptrot, on Swimming with Seals.
'Gripping and highly recommended' The Times, on Daughter of the Wolf.
'A fascinating read... [with] an ending that was utterly satisfying'
Great Historicals, on Daughter of the Wolf

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books