Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
No Modernism Without Lesbians
02 Apr 2020 * EBOOK * £6.99 * 9781786694850

The story of how a singular group of women in a pivotal time and place – Paris, Between the Wars – fostered the birth of the Modernist movement.

Non Fiction / BGF (Biography)
Extent: 432 pages
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
No Modernism Without LesbiansDiana Souhami

One of Stylist's best new books for April.

'A book about love, identity, acceptance and the freedom to write, paint, compose and wear corduroy breeches with gaiters. To swear, kiss, publish and be damned. It is vastly entertaining and often moving ... There isn't a page without an entertaining vignette' The Times.

The extraordinary story of how a singular group of women in a pivotal time and place – Paris, Between the Wars – fostered the birth of the Modernist movement.

Sylvia Beach, Bryher, Natalie Barney, and Gertrude Stein. A trailblazing publisher; a patron of artists; a society hostess; a groundbreaking writer.

They were all women who loved women. They rejected the patriarchy and made lives of their own – forming a community around them in Paris.

Each of these four central women interacted with a myriad of others, some of the most influential, most entertaining, most shocking and most brilliant figures of the age. Diana Souhami weaves their stories into those of the four central women to create a vivid moving tapestry of life among the Modernists in pre-War Paris.

Diana Souhami was brought up in London and studied philosophy at Hull University. She has published biographies of Gluck, Gertrude Stein, Alice Keppel, Radclyffe Hall, Romaine Brooks and Edith Cavell. Her biography of Alexander Selkirk, Selkirk's Island, won the Whitbread Biography Award.

Topically tackles women's overlooked contribution to modern culture.

Exuberantly LGBT.

Prize-winning author.

MARKET: Fans of Virginia Woolf, Gertude Stein, Sarah Waters, Carson McCullers, Jeanette Winterson.


'A book about love, identity, acceptance and the freedom to write, paint, compose and wear corduroy breeches with gaiters. To swear, kiss, publish and be damned' The Times

'Souhami has written several fine biographies ... Now, in a comprehensive cultural history, she awards lesbians the credit for modernising art, manners and morals in the early twentieth century' Observer

'Souhami is one of our most rewarding and inventive biographers, and this book is a splendidly hectic and vivid read ... If No Modernism Without Lesbians goes some way towards making us understand how they thought of themselves, and what they did, it will have done some good' Spectator

'Souhami challenges the Modernist canon that has dominated cultural education at their expense, foregrounding instead great men and their muses ... No Modernism Without Lesbians is important for 2020 because it rips apart the prevailing patriarchal model. What Souhami calls for is abandoning the Modernist canon and rebuilding it one lesbian at a time to create a new, inclusive, 21st-century model' Gay & Lesbian Review

'Diana Souhami argues that modernism would not exist without these extraordinary women, and their courage, passion and verve certainly make this lively group biography an inspirational read' Sunday Times

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Apollo Book