Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Under the Ice
01 Nov 2018 * EBOOK * £3.99 * 9781788547987

A girl's body is found in the local lake at Christmas, turning neighbour against neighbour in a close-knit community.

Fiction / FH (Thrillers)
Extent: 368 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
The Scorched Earth
Into the Fire
The Fall
Also by Rachael Blok
Under the Ice: The twisty and haunting debut thriller that's impossible to put downby Rachael Blok

'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' ERIN KELLY.

It is the week before Christmas and the cathedral city of St Albans is blanketed by snow. But beneath the festive lights, darkness is stirring. The frozen body of a young girl is discovered by the ice-covered lake.

The police scramble for clues. A local woman, Jenny, has had visions of what happened the night of the murder. But Jenny is an exhausted new mother, whose midnight wanderings pull her ever closer to the lake. Can Jenny be trusted? What does she really know?

Then another girl goes missing, and the community unravels. Neighbour turns against neighbour, and Jenny has no idea who to believe. As Christmas Eve approaches, Jenny discovers a secret about her past – and why she could be key to everything...

PRAISE FOR UNDER THE ICE:

'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' Erin Kelly.

'An outstanding debut, so atmospheric it made me literally shiver' Angela Clarke.

'A fantastically evocative book that twists you expertly up in the world of its vivid characters, making you feel the unfolding plot blow by blow' Gytha Lodge.

'Packed with atmosphere, suspense and a cold that chills the heart. Under the Ice announces Rachael Blok as an exciting new voice in crime fiction' Lesley Thomson.

'A lyrical, haunting thriller that's impossible to put down... Under the Ice will get under your skin' J.S. Monroe.

Rachael Blok grew up in Durham and studied Literature at Warwick University. She taught English at a London Comprehensive and is now a full-time writer living in Hertfordshire with her husband and children. Her thrillers Under the Ice, The Scorched Earth and Into the Fire have been widely acclaimed. Visit rachaelblok.com

Christmas-time setting in snowy St Albans.

Upmarket crime for fans of Jane Harper and Susie Steiner.

MARKET: Jane Harper; Susie Steiner; Tana French; Broadchurch.


Debut novelist Rachel Blok has a real talent for evoking location. It might have been August when I read the book, but I was shivering as I read the scenes by the lake... Blok's hands are capable and I only worked out the identity of the murderer a couple of pages before it was made obvious' The Bookbag

Twisty, atmospheric and haunting... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' Erin Kelly

'An outstanding debut, so atmospheric it made me literally shiver' Angela Clarke

'A fantastically evocative book that twists you expertly up in the world of its vivid characters, making you feel the unfolding plot blow by blow' Gytha Lodge

'Packed with atmosphere, suspense and a cold that chills the heart. Under the Ice announces Rachael Blok as an exciting new voice in crime fiction' Lesley Thomson

A lyrical, haunting thriller that's impossible to put down... Under the Ice will get under your skin' JS Monroe

This disturbing debut will make you shiver... A haunting tale that can be devoured in one sitting' Sunday Post (Dundee)

'A haunting and suspenseful thriller, with vivid characters and twists and turns to keep the reader enthralled – make sure your Christmas presents are wrapped and the shopping is done because you won't be able to put this book down!' Candis

'Supremely atmospheric and suspenseful, this debut from a former English teacher announces the arrival of a special talent. It is that good' Daily Mail

'The author really captured both the domestic upheaval a new baby can bring and the fascination of good police procedure. This was a thoroughly enjoyable debut novel' Frost Magazine

'A tense, emotionally charged thriller from a brilliant new voice' The Bookseller

This twisty and atmospheric debut from former teacher Rachael Blok is absolutely riveting. It’s a tense, emotionally charged and evocative thriller, filled with vivid characters, and is almost a perfect balance of fine writing and brilliant storytelling to produce an aura of suspense and a chill which matches its midwinter setting... A truly outstanding debut' Crime Review

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books