Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Raven Banner
02 Apr 2020 * EBOOK * £2.99 * 9781788549967

Iceland, AD 935: A young man is destined to be a warrior, how much longer can he fight his fate?

Fiction / FJH (Action & Adventure)
Extent: 336 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
Odin's Game
The Wolf Hunt
The Serpent King
The Bear's Blade
Blood Eagle
Also in The Whale Road Chronicles series
The Raven Banner: A fast-paced, action-packed historical fiction novelThe Whale Road Chronicles, 2by Tim Hodkinson

'FAST-PACED, DETAILED AND BRILLIANTLY WRITTEN [FOR] FANS OF BERNARD CORNWELL, GEORGE R.R. MARTIN AND THEODORE BRUN' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY.

Einar Unnsson will be a great warrior, whether he wants it or not.

AD 935 - Late Winter, City of Jorvik.

Einar Unnsson is destined to be a great Icelandic warrior. He has already defeated the men sent to kill him by his notorious father, Jarl Thorfinn, the 'Skull Cleaver' of Orkney. He has a gift that makes him lethal in battle. Yet he has cast it all off to be a bard.

When three men attack him, Einar's poetry provides little protection. Luckily, the skilled archer and Norse-Irish princess Affreca saves him. She'd assumed Einar had left to raise an army, challenge Thorfinn and seize the Jarldom of Orkney. Now she's determined to set him back onto his rightful path.

Einar soon finds himself entangled on Affreca's own mission. She's seeking the Raven Banner for King Eirik. Legend has it that the banner is imbued with powerful magic. That it was a gift from the Norse God Odin and any army that marches behind it will be victorious. The quest sets events in motion that are beyond Einar's control.

Einar has no choice but to face his fate and swing his sword once more...

Praise for Tim Hodkinson:

'An excellently written page-turner, with a feel for the period which invites you into the era and keeps you there' Historical Writers Association.

'A gripping action adventure like the sagas of old; and once finished, you just want to go back and read it all over again' Melisende's Library.

Tim Hodkinson grew up in Northern Ireland where the rugged coast and call of the Atlantic ocean led to a lifelong fascination with Vikings and a degree in Medieval English and Old Norse Literature. Tim's more recent writing heroes include Ben Kane, Giles Kristian, Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin and Lee Child. After several years in the USA, Tim has returned to Northern Ireland, where he lives with his wife and children. Follow Tim on @TimHodkinson and www.timhodkinson.blogspot.com

Viking adventure saga in the style of Bernard Cornwell.

Breaking new ground: a time and place not often written about.

Series has over 5500 reviews on Amazon.

MARKET: Bernard Cornwell; Giles Kristian; Robert Low.


PRAISE FOR TIM HODKINSON:
'A brilliantly written historical adventure which will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin, and especially Theodore Brun' Historical Novel Society.
'An excellently written page-turner, with a feel for the period which invites you into the era and keeps you there' Historical Writers Association.
'A gripping action adventure like the sagas of old; and once finished, you just want to go back and read it all over again'
Melisende's Library

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book