Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Every Last Fear
02 Mar 2021 * HARDBACK * £18.99 * 9781800245266

A Netflix documentary made his family infamous, a killer left them dead. Only the surviving son can uncover the truth behind the tragedy in this psychological thriller.

Fiction / FH (Thrillers)
Extent: 368 pages  Format: 228 x 145 mm
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
The Last Justice
The Night Shift
The Advocate's Daughter
The Outsider
Also by Alex Finlay
Every Last Fearby Alex Finlay

'Prepare yourself for twist after exciting twist. A standout novel plotted with surgical precision' KARIN SLAUGHTER

Keep your family close, because your enemies are closer.

University student Matt Pine has just received devastating news. Nearly his entire family have been found dead while holidaying in Mexico. The local police claim it was an accident, but the FBI aren't convinced – and they won't tell Matt why.

The tragedy thrusts his family into the media spotlight again. Seven years ago, Matt's older brother, Danny, was sentenced to life in prison for murdering his teenage girlfriend. Danny has always sworn he was innocent, and last year, a true crime documentary that claimed he was wrongfully convicted went viral.

Now his family's murder is overlapping with Danny's case, Matt is determined to uncover the truth behind the crime that sent his brother to prison. Even if it means putting his own life in danger, and confronting his every last fear.

Read this gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Jewell.

Praise for EVERY LAST FEAR:

'Explosive! A knife-edged thriller that explores the true meaning of family, including love, loyalty and lies' LISA GARDNER, #1 New York Times bestselling author

'Brilliant ... Hooks you from the very first page and keeps you guessing until the final explosive twist. Taut, smart, and compelling. A do not miss!' LIV CONSTANTINE, internationally bestselling author

'Jaw-dropping Every Last Fear [is] a powerful, standout thriller. Hands down the best thriller I've read this year' JENNIFER HILLIER, author of the award-winning Jar of Hearts

' Every Last Fear reads like a bullet and had me hooked from the first few brutal pages' BRIAN PANOWICH, author of the award-winning Bull Mountain

Alex Finlay is the pseudonym of Anthony Franze, an author who lives in Washington D.C. As Alex Finlay, he writes gripping psychological thrillers such as Every Last Fear. As Anthony Franze, he writes compelling legal thrillers including The Advocate's Daughter, The Outsider and The Last Justice. He's garnered national praise for his work as a lawyer in the Appellate and Supreme Court practice of a prominent Washington, D.C. law firm and he has been a commentator on high-court issues for The New Republic, Bloomberg, and National Law Journal.

Multitude of brilliant reviews from big-name authors, including Karin Slaughter.

Complex and brilliant psychological thriller perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Jewell.

MARKET: Karin Slaughter; Lisa Jewell; K.L. Slater; Mark Edwards; Alex Michaelides.


'Prepare yourself for twist after exciting twist. A standout novel plotted with surgical precision' Karin Slaughter

'Explosive! A knife-edged thriller that explores the true meaning of family, including love, loyalty and lies' Lisa Gardner

'Brilliant. Finlay weaves a story as mesmerizing as it is heartbreaking. Hooks you from the very first page and keeps you guessing until the final explosive twist. Taut, smart, and compelling. A do not miss!' Liv Constantine

'Jaw-dropping. Every Last Fear is a powerful, standout thriller. Finlay is a masterful storyteller, seamlessly shifting perspectives and timelines to add layers of emotional depth and suspense to this fast-paced, expertly plotted, utterly engrossing novel. Hands down the best thriller I've read this year' Jennifer Hillier

'Intriguing ... [Every Last Fear] ticks all the boxes and pushes all the right buttons' The Times

'A hugely ambitious novel that satisfies on so many different levels. It's a riveting mystery, a propulsive thriller, and a moving portrait of a family torn apart, and brought together, by tragedy' Lou Berney

'Alex Finlay knows exactly what he or she is doing and in a bravura performance has given us an absolute cracker of a crime thriller ... A large cast of characters, different points-of-view narration and a likeable and competent female FBI agent, all keep the story moving at a fair lick, with some neat revelations and gut-churning twists along the way' ShotsMag

'This is as much family story as thriller ... A compelling one' The Times

'The book kept my attention from the first explosive page. Alex Finlay has produced a mystery that thrills and surprises in equal measure and I enjoyed it enormously. Recommended' Promoting Crime Fiction

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book