Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Supernova Era
05 Aug 2021 * PAPERBACK * £8.99 * 9781800248960

Children inherit the Earth when radiation from a supernova kills all the adults: some forge an imitation of their parent's society; others devolve into savagery and violence. From Cixin Liu the award-winning author of The Three-Body Problem.

Fiction / FL (Science Fiction)
Extent: 448 pages  Format: 198 x 129 mm
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
The Wandering Earth
Ball Lightning
The Wandering Earth
Of Ants and Dinosaurs
Hold Up the Sky
The Wandering Earth
Ball Lightning
The Three-Body Problem
The Three-Body Problem
The Dark Forest
The Dark Forest
Death's End
Death's End
Also by Cixin Liu
The Supernova EraCixin Liu, translated by Joel Martinsen

'Like Ursula K. Le Guin rewriting The Lord of the Flies for the quantum age' NPR

'Cixin Liu is the author of your next favourite sci-fi novel' WIRED

Eight years ago and eight light years away, a supermassive star died.

Tonight, a supernova tsunami of high energy will finally reach Earth. Dark skies will shine bright as a new star blooms in the heavens and within a year everyone over the age of thirteen will be dead, their chromosomes irreversibly damaged.

And so the countdown begins.

Parents apprentice their children and try to pass on the knowledge they'll need to keep the world running.

But the last generation may not want to carry the legacy of their parents' world. And though they imagine a better, brighter future, they may not be able to escape humanity's dark instincts...

Cixin Liu is China's #1 SF writer and author of The Three-Body Problem – the first ever translated novel to win a Hugo Award. Prior to becoming a writer, Liu worked as an engineer in a power plant in Yangquan.

From the author of the Hugo-award winning The Three-Body Problem.

550,000 copies sold of the Three-Body Problem trilogy.

MARKET: SF greats in the tradition of Asimov and Clark.


'A unique blend of scientific and philosophical speculation, politics and history, conspiracy theory and cosmology' George RR Martin

'A marvellous mélange of awe-inspiring scientific concepts, clever plotting and quirky yet plausible characters' TLS

'Wildly imaginative, really interesting ... The scope of it was immense' Barack Obama

'China's answer to Arthur C. Clarke' New Yorker

'A milestone in Chinese science fiction' New York Times

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books