Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Creeper
15 Sep 2022 * HARDBACK * £16.99 * 9781801102179

The new horror novel from author of The Watchers, A.M. Shine, set in a remote Irish village. The Creeper is the nameless fear in the night. Stories keep him alive. And nothing will keep him away...

Fiction / FK (Horror)
Extent: 320 pages  Format: 229 x 148 mm
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
Outside the Gates of Eden
The Watchers
Also by A.M. Shine
The Creeper: the new Halloween chiller from the author of The Watchersby A.M. Shine

The Creeper is a masterful tale of horror and suspense from one of Ireland's most talented emerging authors.

Superstitions only survive if people believe in them...

Renowned academic Dr Sparling seeks help with his project on a remote Irish village. Historical researchers Ben and Chloe are thrilled to be chosen – until they arrive.

The village is isolated and forgotten. There is no record of its history, its stories. There is no friendliness from the locals, only wary looks and whispers. The villagers lock down their homes at sundown.

It seems a nameless fear stalks the streets, but nobody will talk – nobody except one little girl. Her words strike dread into the hearts of the newcomers. Three times you see him. Each night he comes closer...

That night, Ben and Chloe see a sinister figure watching them. He is the Creeper. He is the nameless fear in the night. Stories keep him alive. And nothing will keep him away...

Reviewers on A.M. Shine:

'A dark, claustrophobic read.' T. Kingfisher
'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches... Will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith.' A.E. Siraki, Booklist
'An ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!' Beauty and Lace

A.M. Shine writes in the Gothic horror tradition. Born in Galway, Ireland, he received his Master's Degree in History there before sharpening his quill and pursuing all things literary and macabre. His stories have won the Word Hut and Bookers Corner prizes and he is a member of the Irish Writers Centre. His debut novel, The Watchers, has been critically acclaimed. The Creeper is his second full-length novel. Follow him on @AMShineWriter and www.amshinewriter.com

New horror novel from emerging Irish author.

First novel has sold over 10000 copies including 5000 in print.

MARKET: Francine Toon; Andrew Michael Hurley; Darcy Coates; T. Kingfisher.


'Shine has quickly established himself as a must-read author... Brutal, visceral and unputdownable' Kendall Reviews

'Absolutely perfectly pitched. Horror fiction is teeming with great boogiemen and The Creeper ranks with the very best of them' Horror DNA

'A masterfully written novel of gothic horror that will draw you slowly into a scary, claustrophobic world' SF Crowsnest

PRAISE FOR A.M. SHINE:
'A dark, claustrophobic read.' T. Kingfisher, on The Watchers.
'This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!' Beauty and Lace.
'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches... Will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith.'
A.E. Siraki, Booklist

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book