Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Edgware Road
03 Mar 2022 * EBOOK * £7.99 * 9781801107372

A debut novel about family and identity, wealth and corruption, the ties that bind us and the ties we have no idea we've severed, set between Karachi and London.

Fiction / FA (Fiction)
Extent: 416 pages
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
Edgware Roadby Yasmin Cordery Khan

A wide-ranging and affecting debut novel about family and identity, from an award-winning historian.

1981. Khalid Quraishi is one of the lucky ones. He works nights in the glitzy West End, and comes home every morning to his beautiful wife and daughter. He's a world away from Karachi and the family he left behind.

But Khalid likes to gamble, and he likes to win. Twenty pounds on the fruit machine, fifty on a sure-thing horse, a thousand on an investment that seems certain to pay out. Now he's been offered a huge opportunity, a chance to get in early with a new bank, and it looks like he'll finally have his big win.

2003. Alia Quraishi doesn't really remember her dad. After her parents' divorce she hardly saw him, and her mum refuses to talk about her charming ex-husband. So, when he died in what the police wrote off as a sad accident, Alia had no reason to believe there was more going on.

Now almost twenty years have passed and she's tired of only understanding half of who she is. Her dad's death alone and miles from his west London stomping ground doesn't add up with the man she knew. If she's going to find out the truth about her father – and learn about the other half of herself – Alia is going to have to visit his home, a place she's never been, and connect with a family that feel more like strangers.

'Part family mystery, part immigrant hustle, Edgware Road is a complete tour de force... Khan calls up all the ghosts that prowl between children and their parents, between immigrants and their homelands, between our dreams of wealth and our hunger for love, and exorcises them with prose so lapidary and understanding so vast Khan's novel is like unto a blessing' Junot Díaz

Yasmin Cordery Khan is an historian and broadcaster. She is the author of The Great Partition (for which she won the Gladstone Prize for History), and The Raj at War, and has written for the Guardian and the Observer. Edgware Road is her first novel.

Author is a well-respected and award-winning historian.

Head of Zeus Star Title: early proofs will be available in September 2021.

Political and social context of the book is extremely relevant to the current time: overwhelming Conservative majority in government, recession, racism and xenophobia, corruption in government.

MARKET: Bernardine Evaristo; Zadie Smith; Maggie O'Farrell; Min Jin Lee; Jonathan Coe.


Part family mystery, part immigrant hustle, Edgware Road is a complete tour de force... Khan calls up all the ghosts that prowl between children and their parents, between immigrants and their homelands, between our dreams of wealth and our hunger for love, and exorcises them with prose so lapidary and understanding so vast Khan's novel is like unto a blessing' Junot Díaz

'Poised to be one of the debuts of the season' Vogue India

'A brilliant, intriguing novel about identity and family. The smells and sounds of 1980s London leap from the page and the characters feel so real that I can hardly believe they're not' Louise Hare

'At a time when travelling is almost impossible, this beautiful novel transported me. An elegant and moving book from a highly promising new voice in fiction' Sathnam Sanghera

'A book for readers of Bernardine Evaristo and Zadie Smith' Vogue India

'A gripping mixture of mystery, family drama and insights into the immigrant experience, Khan's expansive debut depicts two generations of a London Pakistani family, and the secrets of an estranged father that keep haunting his daughter years after his death' Waterstones

'A moving, evocative read' Woman's Own

'An incredibly accomplished debut... This is an affecting debut focussed on the themes of family and identity' Adele Parks

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Apollo Book