Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Bermondsey Bookshop
The Bermondsey Bookshop: A heart-wrenching saga of love and loss in 1920s London Mary Gibson

'Happiness had never been something she'd looked for. A quiet day with no insults or wallops, that was the best she could imagine.'

Kate Goss lives in a dark, freezing cold garret, despised and bullied by her aunt and cousins after the death of her mother. She dreams of being rescued by her handsome father, who she only dimly remembers. No one quite knows where he is, or what he is doing, just that he is sure to come back a rich man.

By the time Kate is seventeen, she is tough and hardened. When her aunt throws her out on to the streets of south London, she answers an advert for a cleaner in the Bermondsey Bookshop and Reading Room, founded by a wealthy woman who dreams of bringing literature to the poor.

Here she will find a world she never knew existed. But for Kate, trouble is never far away and long-held secrets are about to burst into the open and ensnare her in a web of lies and violence. Can she ever escape? And will the man she has begun to love still be there if she does?

Head of Zeus * Saga
06 Feb 2020 * 448pp * £4.49 * 9781788542630
'An inspiring story'
My Weekly
Mary Gibson
Mary Gibson
Mary Gibson was born and brought up in Bermondsey, south east London, where both her grandmother and mother were factory girls. She is the author of the bestselling Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts, which was selected for World Book Night 2015, and five other novels, Jam and Roses, Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys, Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams, Hattie's Home and A Sister's Struggle. @MaryGibsonBooks
ALSO BY Mary Gibson
Hattie's Home
A Sister's Struggle
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
Jam and Roses
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
Run to Him
A Girl Called Eilinora
Her Missing Husband: A Short Story
Jessie's Promise
The Wives' Revenge
Nobody's Girl
Lizzie's Daughters
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
A Dark And Distant Shore
The Four Streets
ashes In The Wind
Hide Her Name
Jam and Roses
The Throwaway Children
The Ballymara Road
The Sisters of St Croix
The Runaway Family
Ruby Flynn
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
The Girl With No Name
The Angels of Lovely Lane
Lizzie's Secret
Lizzie's War
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
The Children of Lovely Lane
The Married Girls
The Mothers of Lovely Lane
The Big Wind
Christmas Angels
An Angel Sings
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Hattie's Home
A Place to Call Home
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
The Lovely Lane Box Set
The Orphan Girl
The Candle Factory Girl
Miss Mary's Daughter