Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Advocate's Daughter
The Advocate's Daughter: A suspenseful legal thriller with a shock ending by Alex Finlay

'SMART, SOPHISTICATED, SUSPENSEFUL, AND WRITTEN WITH REAL INSIDER AUTHENTICITY. A WINNER' LEE CHILD

It's not who you know, it's what you know about them . . .

Among Washington D.C. power players, everyone has something to hide, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer. Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood, and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing.

When Abby's lifeless body is discovered shoved into a shelf at the Supreme Court Library, Sean is wracked with grief. Does her murder have anything to do with the secret he's been keeping for years? He follows the footsteps of his daughter's last days and stumbles over secrets within his own family – as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to prevent Sean from exposing the truth . . .

Praise for The Advocate's Daughter:

'Keeps twisting and turning right up until its shock of an ending. Long-buried secrets and shadowy agendas murderously collide – smack in the middle of a heated Supreme Court nomination clash [...] Read and marvel' GREGG HURWITZ

'The tension starts on the very first page, and keeps ratcheting up. Once it grabs you it won't let go' JOSEPH FINDER

'A brilliant thriller that's smart, well-written, and heart-stopping' LINDA FAIRSTEIN

'A taut and twisting thriller ... It crackles with authenticity and moves with an irresistible momentum' LISA UNGER

'A smart, suspenseful thriller filled with insider knowledge of the Supreme Court, D.C. politics, and collisions between the two. It's also an absorbing story about families and the sacrifices we make for the people we love' ALAFAIR BURKE

'Fast paced, sharply plotted ... A blast!' ROBERT DUGONI

'Engaging and riveting ... This no-holds-barred potboiler shines a light on Washington's halls of power only to reveal the darkness lurking within them' PROVIDENCE JOURNAL

'The 'best of the best' when it comes to suspense' SUSPENSE MAGAZINE

'A taut, twisting thriller' HUFFINGTON POST

'This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow' BOOKLIST

'Rich and fine in plot background with a flowing narrative style – this is fiction rooted in reality ... Highly recommended' NEW MYSTERY READER MAGAZINE

'Judicial fiction at its finest' FOR THE LOVE OF BOOKS.COM

'A riveting legal thriller that will keep you turning pages until the breathtaking end' ABOVE THE LAW

'Tautly written and expertly put together, if there is one crime thriller you want to add to your collection, then let this be it' CRIMINAL ELEMENT

What Amazon reviewers are saying:

'Nobody does it better [...] than Franze. He's perfectly suited to tell this story, himself a starred Supreme Court advocate. And he tells it so well, smoothly slipping in and blending day-to-day Supreme Court realisms with a highly suspenseful tale' ★★★★★

'Best leisure read of my life. Real. Intoxicating. Impactful. Superior. Franze's latest offering is fueled by uncommonly salacious access to many elements of the world's highest and most exclusive secret society' ★★★★★

'A tremendously enjoyable read. Finished in just a couple days – actually a couple very late nights. If you enjoy fast paced thrillers, then you will not be disappointed' ★★★★★

'Great characters, tight narrative, and interesting insider facts about the Supreme Court. And non-stop action. The whole thing is really clever. Plus, a great twist at the end that I did not see coming' ★★★★★

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Thrillers
10 Jun 2021 * 384pp * £2.99 * 9781800245341
REVIEWS
'Smart, sophisticated, suspenseful, and written with real insider authenticity. A winner'
Lee Child
'Anthony Franze evokes the inner workings and backstage machinations of this hidden world with deftness and verisimilitude. Read and marvel'
Gregg Hurwitz
'Fans of House of Cards will love The Advocate's Daughter ... The tension starts on the very first page, and keeps ratcheting up. Once it grabs you it won't let go'
Joseph Finder
'A taut and twisting thriller, The Advocate's Daughter is also a sensitive meditation on family and the price of secrets we keep from each other – and from ourselves. It crackles with authenticity and moves with an irresistible momentum. Fans of Brad Meltzer and John Grisham need to add Anthony Franze to their must-read list'
Lisa Unger
'A smart, suspenseful thriller filled with insider knowledge of the Supreme Court, D.C. politics, and collisions between the two. It's also an absorbing story about families and the sacrifices we make for the people we love'
Alafair Burke
'Anthony Franze is back and better than ever with The Advocate's Daughter – a brilliant thriller that's smart, well-written, and heart-stopping'
Linda Fairstein
Author
Alex Finlay
Alex Finlay
Alex Finlay is the pseudonym of Anthony Franze, an author who lives in Washington D.C. As Alex Finlay, he writes gripping psychological thrillers such as Every Last Fear. As Anthony Franze, he writes compelling legal thrillers including The Advocate's Daughter, The Outsider and The Last Justice. He's garnered national praise for his work as a lawyer in the Appellate and Supreme Court practice of a prominent Washington, D.C. law firm and he has been a commentator on high-court issues for The New Republic, Bloomberg, and National Law Journal.
ALSO BY Alex Finlay
Every Last Fear
The Last Justice
The Outsider
The Night Shift
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Donovan Creed Foursome  5-8
Donovan Creed Foursome 1-4
Donovan Creed Omnibus 1-8
Donovan Creed Two Up 1-2
Donovan Creed Two Up 3-4
Donovan Creed Two Up 5-6
Donovan Creed Two Up 7-8
The Boatman
3 Great Thrillers
Daddy's Girl
Like Clockwork
Blood Rose
Gallows Hill
Three Jack McClure Missions - Box Set
The Ninja
The Miko
White Ninja
The Kaisho
Floating City
Second Skin
Company Man
Extraordinary Powers
High Crimes
Killer Instinct
The Moscow Club
The Zero Hour
Paranoia
Relic
Reliquary
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Still Life With Crows
Brimstone
Extraction
Thunderhead
The Ice Limit
Riptide
Mount Dragon
The Drowned: A Short Story
Missing
Accused