Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Would I Lie to You?
Would I Lie to You? by Aliya Ali-Afzal

'Warm, intelligent ... and keeps up the tension right till the end' Sophie Kinsella

'A refreshing new voice in commercial fiction' Cosmopolitan

'I devoured this book' Sarah Pearse

'Intelligent and original' Lesley Kara

From fresh new voice Aliya Ali-Afzal, Would I Lie to You? is a page-turning, warm and funny debut about what happens when you have your dream life – and are about to lose it.

At the school gates, Faiza fits in. It took a few years, but now the snobbish mothers who mistook her for the nanny treat her as one of their own. She's learned to crack their subtle codes, speak their language of handbags and haircuts and discreet silver watches. You'd never guess, at the glamorous kids' parties and the leisurely coffee mornings, that Faiza's childhood was spent following her parents round the Tooting Cash'n'Carry.

When her husband Tom loses his job in finance, he stays calm. Something will come along, and in the meantime, they can live off their savings. But Faiza starts to unravel. Raising the perfect family comes at a cost – and the money Tom put aside has gone. When Tom's redundancy package ends, Faiza will have to tell him she's spent it all.

Unless she doesn't...

It only takes a second to lie to Tom. Now Faiza has six weeks to find £75,000 before her lie spirals out of control. If anyone can do it, Faiza can: she's had to fight for what she has, and she'll fight to keep it. But as the clock ticks down, and Faiza desperately tries to put things right, she has to ask herself: how much more should she sacrifice to protect her family?

A tense, funny and page-turning debut from a fresh new voice in fiction, Would I Lie to You? is perfect for readers of Adele Parks, Celeste Ng, and Kiley Reid.

'Convincing and compelling' Stacey Halls
'The writing is so fresh and light; funny in places, but moving in others ... I'll be recommending it to everyone I know' Sarah Pearse
'I really enjoyed Would I Lie to You ... A fresh take on domestic dynamics and moral dilemma ... Great for book clubs' Clare Mackintosh
'So warm, funny, sad and brilliantly written' Laura Marshall
'Not just entertaining, but intelligent and original too ... and the resourceful Faiza will steal your heart' Lesley Kara
'A warm, funny, compelling, escapist read' Debbie Howells
'Tense, funny, poignant and very clever' Claire Douglas

Head of Zeus * Fiction
08 Jul 2021 * 448pp * £14.99 * 9781800245679
REVIEWS
'An uplifting and joyous read ... A refreshing new voice in commercial fiction'
Cosmopolitan
'An engaging, entertaining, smart, and ultimately feel-good novel with huge emotional integrity and balance'
LoveReading
'A page-turner hinging on financial meltdown'
Woman & Home
'Compelling and heartwarming'
Happiful Magazine
'A brilliant read'
Bella Magazine
'This book acknowledges moral dilemmas with wit and warmth'
Woman's Weekly
'This warm-hearted, funny debut is a properly indulgent page turner ... Sympathetic and fun'
Adele Parks, Platinum
'[A] dazzling debut'
My Weekly
'This is warm and genuinely funny, opening as Faiza tries to get out of a 'Botox party' she can't afford, and following her desperate attempts to keep her spending secret. Loved it'
The Bookseller
Author

Aliya Ali-Afzal

Aliya Ali-Afzal
Aliya Ali-Afzal has a degree in Russian and German from UCL and worked as an Executive MBA Career Coach in London. While helping her clients to pursue their dream lives and careers, she decided to take her own advice and become a writer. She is studying for an MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, is an alum of Curtis Brown Creative, and has had her writing longlisted for the Bath Novel Award, the Mslexia Novel Competition, the Mo Siewcharran Prize, and the Primadonna Prize. Aliya has lived in London all her life since moving there from Pakistan as a young child.
ALSO BY Aliya Ali-Afzal
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Tim
The Thorn Birds
An Indecent Obsession
The Fundamentals of Caring
Something Quite Beautiful
The Game
A Christmas Wish
No Greater Love - Box Set
The Ten Pound Ticket
Little Sisters
Praxis
The Cloning of Joanna May
The Rules of Life
Darcy's Utopia
Life Force
Splitting
The Shrapnel Academy
Worst Fears
Leader Of The Band
Moon Over Minneapolis
Polaris
Wicked Women
Fay Weldon Omnibus
The Ted Dreams
Three-and-a-Half Heartbeats
The Royal We
Little Miracle
The Perfect Marriage
Imogen's Baby
Miss Potterton's Birthday Tea
Secrets We Keep
The Other Wives Club
Just the Two of Us
A Life Without You
The Prophet
In White Ink
The Christmas Café
Bosnian Chronicle
Second Chance Café
The Conductor