Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Watchers
The Watchers: A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 by A.M. Shine

A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine.

'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance

You can't see them. But they can see you.

This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Horror
14 Oct 2021 * 320pp * £0.99 * 9781801102155
REVIEWS
'A dark, claustrophobic read'
T. Kingfisher
'This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!'
Beauty and Lace
Author
A.M. Shine
A.M. Shine
A.M. Shine is a writer and advocate of the Gothic horror tradition. Born in Galway in the west of Ireland, there he received his Masters Degree in History before sharpening his quill and pursuing all things literary and macabre. His stories have won the Word Hut and Bookers Corner prize and he is a member of the Irish Writers Centre. His debut novel, The Watchers, has been critically acclaimed. The Creeper is his second full-length novel. @AMShineWriter http://www.amshinewriter.com/
ALSO BY A.M. Shine