Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Watchers
The Watchers: A thrilling Gothic horror perfect for Halloween by A.M. Shine

A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine.

'A dark, claustrophobic read' T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grace

You can't see them. But they can see you.

This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Horror
14 Oct 2021 * 320pp * £0.99 * 9781801102155
REVIEWS
'A dark, claustrophobic read'
T. Kingfisher
'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith'
A.E. Siraki, Booklist
'This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!'
Beauty and Lace
'Intense and thrilling, The Watchers is a great debut and solid addition to the survival horror sub-genre'
Read By Dusk
'A brisk, at times scary but thoroughly enjoyable read'
Bloody Flicks
'A clever, highly original story beautifully written'
The Untidy Bookshelf
'The Watchers was a punch to the jugular... The author pulled out the rug from under me on more than one occasion. A must-read for the spooky season!'
The Coy Caterpillar Reads
Author
A.M. Shine
A.M. Shine
A.M. Shine writes in the Gothic horror tradition. Born in Galway, Ireland, he received his Master's Degree in History there before sharpening his quill and pursuing all things literary and macabre. His stories have won the Word Hut and Bookers Corner prizes and he is a member of the Irish Writers Centre. His debut novel, The Watchers, has been critically acclaimed. The Creeper is his second full-length novel. Follow him on @AMShineWriter and www.amshinewriter.com
ALSO BY A.M. Shine
Dark Tangos
Black & White
Deserted Cities of the Heart
Frontera
Glimpses
Say Goodbye
Slam
Outside the Gates of Eden
Heroes and Villains
The Creeper
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE