Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Before the Dawn
Before the Dawn: A gripping and absolutely heartbreaking WW2 historical novel by Emma Pass

When everything you hold dear is torn apart by war, can love put you back together again?

It's 1943, and the Second World War is raging. Ruby Mottram works for her local newspaper, the Bartonford Herald, typing up adverts and obituaries, whilst dreaming of a more exciting life. Between her shifts as an ARP warden and caring for her ailing father, the chance for escape doesn't come often to Devon.

Meanwhile, in America's deep south, Sam Archer is hatching a plan to raise enough money to get his mother and sister away from his abusive stepfather. Using falsified documents to hide his age, he enlists with the U.S. Army.

Two chance encounters bring Ruby and Sam together from opposite sides of the Atlantic, giving them the chance of love, hope and freedom from their troubled lives. But fate, in the shape of D-Day and Omaha Beach, has other ideas.

When their very lives are at risk, will their promise to wait for one another be what keeps them alive?

For fans of Suzanne Kelman, Ellie Midwood and Catherine Hokin.

Readers love Before the Dawn:

'An absolutely stunning book... I adored everything about this. I would definitely watch this if it were a movie! I already can't wait to re-read this' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'OH MY GODDESS this book has become a new favourite... Ruby and Sam's love is addicting and heart-warming, leaving me feel the same emotions alongside them through every bump in the road. Their love was so enchanting and strong' @haleyyneal, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'What a gorgeous book!!... It would make an exquisite movie. The chemistry between the two main characters was off the charts. This book kept me up late into the night turning page by page like it was on fire to see what happened next' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I need this to be a movie!... A beautiful story of love and the dual perspective was perfect! I am adding this to my historical fiction favourites' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I couldn't put this down! Beautiful writing kept me turning the pages!' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Lovely, raw WWII romance... Quite heart-breaking... Definitely a rocky and emotional one... A really great WWII historical romance' Wayfaring_reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Wonderful book... If you are a fan of World War novels of history and romance, then you need to read this... A stunning book I couldn't put down. At the end I was overwhelmed with the story and replayed it in my mind for several days. A read not to be missed' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I read this over a rainy stormy weekend... Just what I needed to curl up with... This was an immersive, historically well researched story of WW2... All that one might want from this genre: romance, historical fact and some sense of suspense... 5 stars from me!' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Romance
03 Mar 2022 * 336pp * £2.99 * 9781801105521
REVIEWS
'Emma Pass is excellent in exploring the impact of a large American camp on a small Devonshire town and the excitement, the attraction and the antipathy caused'
Historical Novel Society
Author
Emma Pass
Emma Pass
Emma Pass grew up in Surrey and has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first novel – a sequel to Jurassic Park – when she was 13 in maths lessons with her notebook hidden under her work. She previously worked as a library assistant and has published two novels for young adults and a non-fiction creative writing e-guide. In 2020 she was commissioned to create a poetry-film for the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site. She is now a full-time writer, creative writing teacher, editor and mentor. She has ME and, at the age of 40, was diagnosed as being on the autistic spectrum. Emma lives in Derbyshire with her artist husband and a very naughty retired racing greyhound called Auburn. When shes not writing she loves to read and knit (often at the same time).
ALSO BY Emma Pass
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE