Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Edgware Road
Edgware Road by Yasmin Cordery Khan

A wide-ranging novel about family and identity, from an award-winning historian.

1981: Khalid Quraishi feels like one of the lucky ones. Working in the glitzy West End by night and spending time with his beautiful wife and daughter by day, he's a world away from the life he left behind in Karachi.

But Khalid likes to gamble – twenty pounds on the fruit machine here, a thousand on a sure-thing investment there. And now he's chanced upon his biggest opportunity yet, it looks like he'll finally have his big win...

2003: Alia Quraishi doesn't really remember her dad. She hardly ever saw him after her parents got divorced – so when she received the news that he died in an alleged accident, she had no reason to believe otherwise.

But now that almost twenty years have passed, she has questions. And with no links to her father left in the UK, Alia knows that the only way to find answers is to visit his first home in Pakistan, and connect with a family that feel more like strangers.

Praise for Edgware Road:

'A complete tour de force' Junot Díaz
'Poised to be one of the debuts of the season' Vogue India
'An elegant and moving book' Sathnam Sanghera

Head of Zeus, an Apollo book * Fiction
10 Nov 2022 * 416pp * £9.99 * 9781801107365
REVIEWS
Part family mystery, part immigrant hustle, Edgware Road is a complete tour de force... Khan calls up all the ghosts that prowl between children and their parents, between immigrants and their homelands, between our dreams of wealth and our hunger for love, and exorcises them with prose so lapidary and understanding so vast Khan's novel is like unto a blessing'
Junot Díaz
'Poised to be one of the debuts of the season'
Vogue India
'A brilliant, intriguing novel about identity and family. The smells and sounds of 1980s London leap from the page and the characters feel so real that I can hardly believe they're not'
Louise Hare
'At a time when travelling is almost impossible, this beautiful novel transported me. An elegant and moving book from a highly promising new voice in fiction'
Sathnam Sanghera
'A book for readers of Bernardine Evaristo and Zadie Smith'
Vogue India
'A gripping mixture of mystery, family drama and insights into the immigrant experience, Khan's expansive debut depicts two generations of a London Pakistani family, and the secrets of an estranged father that keep haunting his daughter years after his death'
Waterstones
'A moving, evocative read'
Woman's Own
'An incredibly accomplished debut... This is an affecting debut focussed on the themes of family and identity'
Adele Parks
Author
Yasmin Cordery Khan
Yasmin Cordery Khan
Yasmin Cordery Khan is an historian and broadcaster. She is the author of The Great Partition (for which she won the Gladstone Prize for History), and The Raj at War, and has written for the Guardian and the Observer. Edgware Road is her first novel.
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Tim
An Indecent Obsession
The Fundamentals of Caring
Something Quite Beautiful
The Game
A Christmas Wish
No Greater Love - Box Set
The Ten Pound Ticket
Little Sisters
Praxis
The Cloning of Joanna May
The Rules of Life
Darcy's Utopia
Life Force
Splitting
The Shrapnel Academy
Worst Fears
Leader Of The Band
Moon Over Minneapolis
Polaris
Wicked Women
Fay Weldon Omnibus
The Ted Dreams
Three-and-a-Half Heartbeats
The Royal We
Little Miracle
The Perfect Marriage
Imogen's Baby
Miss Potterton's Birthday Tea
Secrets We Keep
The Other Wives Club
Just the Two of Us
A Life Without You
The Prophet
In White Ink
The Christmas Café
Bosnian Chronicle
Second Chance Café
The Conductor
The Sentinel