Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Twist of Fate
Twist of Fate: A dark psychological thriller about grief and loss by D.L. Mark

She says he's a victim. They say he's a killer.

When an armed man massacres several people in central London, Claudine witnesses the whole thing. To her horror, one of the victims is her brother, Jethro.

Riven by grief, Claudine retreats to the house in the Fens where she and Jethro grew up. When the police contact her, she is left reeling when they tell her Jethro orchestrated the attack.

Why would a gentle, if troubled, middle-aged man cause such bloodshed – and why would he include himself in the list of victims?

Claudine finds herself down a rabbit hole of mystery, caught up in Jethro's research on a medieval cult. If she can't solve the riddle in time, more people will die... and the darkness will claim her too.

This twisty, unrelenting thriller is perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Emma Kavanagh, and Sharon Bolton, using themes of grief to explore how people are never as straightforward as they seem.

Reviewers on D.L. Mark:

'Mark is an extraordinary talent – one of the best in the business. I adore how he writes.' M.W. Craven
'Dark and compelling with characters you will never forget.' Elly Griffiths
'Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer.' Peter James
'Mark’s books are always taut, intelligent page-turners.' Abir Mukherjee

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Thrillers
02 Mar 2023 * 400pp * £4.99 * 9781803287720
REVIEWS
PRAISE FOR D.L. MARK:

'Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' Peter James.

'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' Richard Madeley, Richard & Judy Book Club (on Dark Winter).

'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily Mail (on Darkness Falls).

'Beautifully crafted' Kirkus.

'Mark's books are always taut, intelligent page-turners'
 Abir Mukherjee
Author
D.L. Mark
D.L. Mark
D.L. Mark spent more than fifteen years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post. His writing is heavily influenced by the court cases he covered: the jaded police officers; incompetent investigators; the inertia of the justice system and the grief of those touched by tragedy. He writes psychological suspense thrillers and historical novels, plus the DS McAvoy series (as David Mark). Follow D.L. Mark at @davidmarkwriter and www.davidmarkwriter.co.uk
ALSO BY D.L. Mark
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Donovan Creed Foursome  5-8
Donovan Creed Foursome 1-4
Donovan Creed Omnibus 1-8
Donovan Creed Two Up 1-2
Donovan Creed Two Up 3-4
Donovan Creed Two Up 5-6
Donovan Creed Two Up 7-8
The Boatman
3 Great Thrillers
Daddy's Girl
Like Clockwork
Blood Rose
Gallows Hill
Three Jack McClure Missions - Box Set
The Ninja
The Miko
White Ninja
The Kaisho
Floating City
Second Skin
Company Man
Extraordinary Powers
High Crimes
Killer Instinct
The Moscow Club
The Zero Hour
Paranoia
Relic
Reliquary
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Still Life With Crows
Brimstone
Extraction
Thunderhead
The Ice Limit
Riptide
Mount Dragon
The Drowned: A Short Story
Missing
Accused